The purpose of the GMCC Community Achievement Award, and the "M" award which preceded it, is to recognize and honor individuals for outstanding community service in the Manchester or Bolton area.

Recipients must have a time-proven history of involvement in community-oriented projects; must have demonstrated outstanding service to the business community and must show leadership and commitment to making the community a better place.

Brief letters of recommendation with the person's qualifications, generally requested in early March, may be sent to:

             Greater Manchester Chamber of Commerce
             Community Achievement Award
             20 Hartford Road
             Manchester, CT 06040

More information about the Greater Manchester Chamber of Commerce: GMCC, or phone the chamber at 860-646-2223.

 Year  Recipient Information

Community Achievement Award Recipients
2020 Sarah Howroyd Licensed social worker, co-founder of HOPE Initiative with police chief; leader in counseling in fields of mental health, substance abuse, other addictions.
2019 Alan Lamson Architectural firm founder, leadership roles in Chamber of Commerce, Manchester Silk City Chorus, Boy Scout Troop 27.
2018 Stephen Penny Former mayor, Economic Development Commission, Pension Board, Rotary Club.
2017 Tom and Jana Tierney Tierney Funeral Home; volunteers with Manchester Arts Commission, Manchester Scholarship Foundation, St. James School, MARC, Central CT Celtic Cultural Committee.
2016 Kevin Zingler Executive Director MARC, Inc.
2015 Robert Bycholski Retired Fire Chief and firefighter, volunteer with MARC, Mayor's Campaign.
2014 Beth Stafford Executive Director of MACC Charities, volunteer with Rotary Club.
2013 Steve Carter Owner Carter Chevrolet, volunteer MACC Charities, Food Share, American Cancer Society; active in Downtown Manchester Special Services District.
2012 Malcolm & Susan Barlow Manchester Land Trust, Manchester Historical Society, MISAC (Manchester Interfaith Social Action Committee), CT Forest and Park Association.
2011 Molly Devanney Highland Park Market.
2010 Dotti Cannon Brown Sugar Catering.
2009 Marty Fins Silk City Print Shoppe.
2008 Dr. Jonathan Daube Past President, Manchester Community College.
2007 Dave Prindiville Prindiville, Perrachio, Saunders dentists. Volunteer, Manchester Road Race Committee.
2006 Anne Miller Anne Miller Real Estate.
2005 Hans Weiss Hans Weiss Fine Art Gallery & Studio.
2004 Craig Lappen Twenty First Century Financial Advisors.
2003 Rich Cohen ShopRite of Manchester.
2002 John & Bernice Reig Shady Glen Dairy Stores.
2001 Nate Agostinelli Mayor and a founder of Manchester State Bank.
2000 James McCavanaugh State legislator, active in Manchester politics.
1999 Tim Devanney Highland Park Market.
1998 Bernie Apter Former owner, Regal Men's Shop.
1997 Lauri Prytko Former Executive Director, MARC, Inc.
1996 Richard Meduski Former President, Savings Bank of Manchester.

"M" Award Recipients
1986 Joseph Garman J. Garman Clothier, active in community and GMCC for 30 years
1985 John A. DeQuattro Volunteer and leader in healthcare and business organizations, Board of Directors of ECHN; MMH Cancer Center named after him
1984 ---  
1983 R. Bruce Watkins Watkins Bros. Furniture; author of Brothers in Battle on service in WWII as US Marine
1982 William R. Johnson VNA Comm. Service Award, active in many civic and health-related organizations
1981 Judge William E. FitzGerald Judge of Probate 1973-1994, instrumental in the effort to save Cheney Hall
1980 Phillip Harrison Manager and senior partner of Harrison's Stationers; member of Town Board of Directors. Economic Development Commission, Parking Authority and head of Downtown Coordinating Committee
1979 William B. Thornton Head of Manchester Sand & Gravel, member of numerous local and state civic organizations
1978 Nathan G. Agostinelli Mayor, head of Manchester branch of Rockville Bank
1977 Francis J. Mahoney Mayor, State Representative, member of Manchester Board of Directors
1976 Dr. John E. Rogers Author, historian, and University of Hartford lecturer; introduced courses in Afro-American history in Greater Hartford schools
1975 Harold A. Turkington First selectman and Mayor five terms, deputy mayor two terms and secretary of the Board of Directors for three years
1974 N. William Knight Banker and civic leader, instrumental in founding Manchester Scholarship Foundation, Civic Music Association, and Manchester Heart Foundation
1973 Dr. Charles E. Jacobson, Jr. Head of numerous medical and civic organizations, including Lutz Museum, Pitkin Glassworks, Instructors of Handicapped (IOH), Manchester Historical Society
1972 Robert P. Fuller Civic fund-raiser, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Lydall, Inc., a company merged from Colonial Board and Superior Steel Ball
1971 William N. Sleith Pioneer for handicapped employment, Iona Company
1970 Hon. Charles S. House Justice of State Supreme Court
1969 Edson M. Bailey &
Elizabeth T. Bailey
Edson: Principal, Manchester Hign School
Elizabeth: Trustee, Manchester Memorial Hospital
1968 William E. Buckley Manchester historian, teacher and author
1967 Alice Madden Commander of Women's Ambulance Corps (WW-II),
leader of Instructors of the Handicapped
1966 C. Elmore Watkins Leader of Manchester civic, Mem. Hospital activities
1965 Richard Martin (posthumous) Manchester's 2nd General Mamager
1964 Matthew M. Moriarty, Sr. Automobile dealer, leader of many civic organizations, including those for sports and Town youth, trustee of Manchester Memorial Hospital, director of Savings Bank of Manchester, Manchester State Bank, and Manchester "Y"
1963 Helen J. Estes 27 years teaching English at Manchester High School; Connecticut teacher of the year
1962 Emily W. Smith Long-standing Girl Scout leader and mentor; led Troop 1 on trips abroad promoting international friendship
1961 Hon. Jay E. Rubinow Chief judge of the new Connecticut Circuit Courts
1960 Hazel P. Lutz Founder, Lutz Children's Museum, artist and teacher
1959 Edward J. Thoms Admin., Manchester Memorial Hospital; originated Progressive Patient Care Plan
1958 Manchester Kilties
Bagpipe Band
A leading band of its type in the country; winner of numerous awards, and a local-events favorite